SWS is pleased to recognize many forms of outstanding feminist work. The following awards and scholarships are presented at our Awards Banquet during the Summer Meeting, held each August, with the exception of the Undergraduate Social Action Award which is presented at the Winter Meeting

 The Awards Committee is comprised of an elected chair, two elected members (who chair the Feminist Activism and Feminist Lecturer committees), and the chairs of each other award committee, listed below.

Awards Committee Chair: Marlese Durr [email protected]

Elected Committee Members:

Marybeth Stalp: [email protected]

Josephine Beoku-Betts: [email protected]


Awards, Individual Award Chairs, and Award Selection Committees

Barbara Rosenblum Cancer Dissertation Scholarship
This scholarship is designed to encourage doctoral research on women’s experience of breast cancer and other reproductive cancers, as well as the prevention of these cancers. The scholarship also supports efforts to make sociological research on these topics available to the public.

Contact: Chair, Ana Porroche-Escudero [email protected]

Selection Committee: Beth Caldwell, Chigon Kim, Tracy Ore, Ana Porroche-Escudero, and Jan Thomas

Deadline: April 1, 2016


Beth B. Hess Memorial Scholarship
This scholarship is awarded to a dissertation writing PhD student who has studied for at least one full academic year at a two-year college in the U.S., before transferring to complete a BA.

Contact: Chair, Sarah Bruch [email protected]

Selection Committee: Myra Marx Ferree, Nancy Naples, Denise Copelton, and Mairead Moloney

Deadline: April 1, 2016


Cheryl Allyn Miller Award
This award recognizes a sociology graduate student, or a recent doctorate, whose research or activism constitutes an outstanding contribution to the field of women and work.

Contact: Chair, Amy Leisenring [email protected]

Selection Committee: Yasemin Besen-Cassino and Catherine Solomon

Deadline: April 1, 2016


Feminist Activism Award
This annual award recognizes an SWS member who has made notable contributions to improving the lives of women in society, especially through activism.

Contact: Chair, Josephine Beoku-Betts [email protected]

Selection Committee: Melanie Heath, Afshan Jafar, & Solange Simoes

Campus Visit Committee: Afshan Jafar & Solange Simoes

Deadline: March 1, 2016


Feminist Lecturer Award
Founded in 1985, this lectureship was created to recognize those whose scholarship employs a feminist perspective. The goal is to make these scholars more available to campuses where such a voice is unusual and/or unwelcome.

Contact: Chair, Marybeth Stalp [email protected]

Selection Committee: Bhavani Arabandi and Shelley Eriksen

Deadline: March 1, 2016


Mentoring Award
This award honors an SWS member who is an outstanding feminist mentor.

Contact: Chair, Christine Williams [email protected]

Selection Committee: Nancy Jurik, Michael Messner, Pierrette Hondagneu-Sotelo, and Denise Segura

Deadline: March 1, 2016


Esther Ling Nang Chow and Mary Joyce Green Dissertation Scholarship
This scholarship offers support to women scholars who are from underrepresented groups and are studying concerns that women of color face domestically and/or internationally.

Contact: Chairs, Corinne Castro & Chandra Waring [email protected]

Selection Committee: Lorena Garcia & Veronica Montes

Deadline: April 1, 2016


Undergraduate Social Action Award

Given at the Winter meeting, this award carries on the tradition of acknowledging, affirming and inviting students to participate in SWS.

Contact: Sylvanna Falcon, [email protected]

Deadline: November 1, 2016.